The Tracklist For Jay-Z’s ‘Magna Carta Holy Grail’ Has Been Released


One trend that I’m starting to see in music is that artists are really feeding into that instant gratification notion that dominates our world as it is right now. Justin Timberlake, Kanye West, and now Jay-Z have all taken a similar approach to announcing new music this year. It’s like, we hear that they have a new album in the works, and then– BOOM– we get a single or some kind of preview immediately, then a video, then the album. All in a matter of weeks. And it’s awesome. Because it’s 2013. And ain’t nobody got time for delayed gratification… lmao. Okay, that’s kinda sad, but it’s true! Which is why I’m glad we already have a tracklist for Jay-Z’s highly-anticipated next album, Magna Carta Holy Grail. Click inside for more!

Okay, so we don’t have any production credits or features, but here’s the very strange/very cool video that was released displaying the tracklist:


And here’s the tracklist that folks were able to put together, based on the video (and maybe some other sources???):

01. Picasso Baby
02. Heaven
03. Versus
04. Tom Ford
05. Beach Is Better
06. FuckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt
07. Oceans
08. F.U.T.W.
09. Part II (On The Run)
10. BBC
11. La Familia
12. Jay-Z Blue
13. Nickles & Dimes
14. Holy Grail (Bonus Track)
15. Open Letter (Bonus Track)

Now we’ve heard Open Letter (the song that the friggen White House actually had to hold a press conference about), and Picasso Baby is the song he was working on in that video with Rick Rubin, Swizz Beatz and Timbaland where he first announced the album. We also know that one of these songs contains some lyrics from Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit, which Jay had to get approved by Courtney Love. So we know, like, a lot. And then again, very little! I need to hear one of these non-bonus tracks, in full, preferably with a video following immediately thereafter. KthanksJay.

No, really. I need to know what this album sounds like. Because, based on that promo, I feel like it sounds awesome. Just need those suspicions confirmed.


  • Alecia

    I like this method a lot for established artists that I know are consistent with putting out good quality music. When I heard JT was doing this at the beginning of the year, I know this was a great way for fans to feel valued but skipping the all-over promo, multiple appearance style of yore.
    Jay-Z’s knows what he’s doing, man’s a billionaire after all so of course it’ll be big. Definitely interested to see what’s going on here.
    However for younger artists, I don’t think it will work. Bieber can’t just drop an album in 2 weeks. Kids still don’t get enough allowance to go download it that fast. Besides if he makes it to his new album, the interest may not even be the same.

    • Shannon

      Alecia, you make a great point. This technique wouldn’t work for everyone but it seems to bode well for these artists who already have a huge, adult fan base.